0.07 | “I” Is for Isolation (己独)| Written by Delise Vann | Translated by Imoto

I speak but no one listens,
I cry and am not heard.
By the time I was dead,
I had laid waste to all I held dear

with my bloody river of despair.


Japanese Translation:

私が話し掛けても誰も耳を傾けない
私の泣き声は死ぬまで誰にも届かない
全てを失い
淀みなく流れる血みどろの絶望に愛しさを覚える

 

 


Motivations for writing


My friend Yoshiki (よ しき ), the singer and writer for the band Haikarahakuchi (はいからはくち)  understands how bi-polar depression can end up destroying everything good in your life. Both of us hit rock bottom and are learning now to trust our voice, him with his band and me with my writings. A mutual friend and his current bassist, Imoto(いもと), translated the poem into Japanese. I was staying in their apartment in Japan this December, and enjoyed spending time with my Japanese brothers while I was there. The night before I left I painted something for their band Haikarahakuchi (はいからはくち) and wrote a poem on the back.

 

Leave a Reply

